Writing and Adulting at the Same Time

There are some pretty fantastic advantages to being adult. Working a full time day job is not necessarily one of them. I wanted nothing more than to be writing my butt off this morning and get a huge jump on NaNoWriMo (yay!), but I had to be at work at six in the morning (poo!).
Adulting is hard when juggling what I want to do with what needs to be done. I love writing, but I also love eating and having a roof over my head so gotta split my focus. And splitting focus as any creative type knows carries a risk of the product not being as good as it could be, if it gets done at all.
So to all those who are in the same position doing NaNoWriMo: time to double down this month. It’s gonna be a special hell and not everyone will understand what you’re going though, but you can do it. It’s not going to be forever and at the end of the line you’ll have something amazing forged from struggles.
Good luck to everyone this month! And remember, it doesn’t have to be flawless to be perfect.

Leave a Reply

